Falling Rainbow…!!

I’ve always dreamed of roaming around in India and being able to see some spiritual and sacred places… I should say that’s the ‘only’ ambition I’ve had till now… if someone would ask me what’s mine… Luckily till now no one ever asked, I ‘m always the one who needs to mention… lol
To show off…? Or… to say repeatedly so I can keep the thought stronger I really don’t know…
What I’m trying to say is, I decided this trip is a kind of trail to check my ambition… I still have no idea what I’m going to write about it… maybe how I felt or giving my personal impression about all the places… or maybe for those who want to go see those places or want to know how it feels after having been there…
A very long road trip… you can only experience the feeling if you come with us to check…
I completely lost my routine life… for almost 40 days I wasn’t doing my regular things anymore, that’s a big change for me, believe me… But fine I don‘t want to make the introduction longer and longer let me come to the topic… I better start with him, because he made the trip colorful, I hope there is a color for stress too… lol… Yeah he gave a lot of mixes..
My business partner was very clear, she said when she arrives in India she ‘s going to buy a second hand car, to get rid of the cab as fast as possible… so second day after she landed we started hunting for a car…
I didn’t know I’ve made a few sins in my past… all sins came in the name of the car… lol… We bought a Fiat Palio diesel, afterwards we came to know it’s one of the worst cars in the world with lots of problems… ! I even found someone mentioning in a blog that he even won’t suggest a Fiat Palio to his worst enemy!
Maybe that sounds funny… but… I can understand him with a little smile… My knowledge about cars was zero, only twice I touched the car steering , that happened in a driving school which I didn’t continue following anymore due to my laziness … Oh yeah now I can hear you saying ‘Who made this road trip?’… No doubt my partner from Belgium, she has been driving all the way… Ok now come back to my knowledge in cars… by now I almost know how the car runs and what are all the important parts… I even started thinking to try to go follow an auto mechanics course to learn more…
A human mind always lies in between right and wrong but never thinks about balance, I mean the third part is mostly hidden for the mind… likewise when we started our trip the third was hidden…
One fine day, early morning, we both started our road trip.DSC_0129new (Small) On our first day we have to reach Mangalore, going through Kerala roads.  I set the GPS with destination Mangalore… really feeling ashamed about making the decision to follow the route the GPS mentioned… because I know very well that this road leads to a Reserve forest… but… I saw we only need to drive 4 km to reach Palakad road.. so I thought maybe it’s possible … Instead of taking Palakad Highway we took Siruvani road..
And there all of a sudden we saw a beautiful rainbow and we felt like following it… I am really very sorry for the picture I took…  I was just starting to learn how to take pics… instead of setting it to fine mode I‘ve set it as normal …so I’m sorry for the quality…
Thanks to God we almost saw where the rainbow ends, my business partner said her grandma used to tell her that at the end of a rainbow you can find a pot of gold coins… am not in the mood for a trekking onto the hill to check the gold coins… but it was interesting to know…
We reached Kovai Kutralam, from there we can reach Palakad Road in 4 km.  A guy ,standing at the front gate, saw a European girl driving and forgot to look at me… He shows 10 fingers so I though he asks 10 Rs entry pass at the gate, so I took 10 Rs and gave it to him … then… he said only at 10 AM they will open the gate… lol… I told him we’re not here to see the place we just want to reach Palakad Road… He ‘s inconvincible and simply says ‘This is a Reserve Forest, you‘re not allowed to go through’…
Without any choice we have to turn back and return all the way we followed the rainbow…
We reached Palakad National Highway again and I felt like ‘fine, here we go again’… but … it ‘s almost 10 AM and my European partner – addicted to ’ bondas ’ after her few visits to India – starts looking around for a coffee shop….
Without words… I understood… lol… asked her to pull over nearby Madhukarai, it’s a small shop but she had at least 3 bondas and parceled few!… lol…
We regained little strength and started moving again… after reaching Kerala border we both felt like the roads are full of landmines, if you need to escape from the bump you need to go through a field full of landmines , you have to sacrifice few things, if someone comes opposite…
It’s a choice between the bumper or both of us and we respect ourselves more than the bumper so we chose us… We didn’t even think about the tires… luckily we changed all 4 before we left… even the stepney Tyre too… The funny part is, we’re driving without jocky or any other instruments… Till now we don’t know why we changed the spare tyre without having issues…
We almost didn’t have breakfast so I thought like let’s eat lunch in Kerala … We started moving very fast, I set the GPS to find nearby restaurants… but… unfortunately that day, I still don’t know why, all restaurants were closed… We were both looking at each other, not knowing what to do… I am smoking and smoking without having anything… my stomach already started burning like I can cook rice with it… Luckily we saw a hotel with attached restaurant that serves food… I felt like I achieved something great…

I still don’t understand how the small city Mahé, that belongs to Puducherry, can be completely filled up with wine shops, a real place for alcohol lovers!… I thought to read about it later on when I finish this trip…
I‘ve never seen a place like this, looking like a market place for wine shops… The only problem was… the roads are very small and it’s hard to park the car, but still … we managed to find a spot, because… my full mind said come on fast… it looks like the market area is going to come to an end…
I asked my partner to stay in the car and stepped into the nearest wine shop and tried my best to speak in Malayalam asking how much the bottles cost… but get a simple reply of 300 Rs in full Tamil… I was like ok sorry for my bad Malayalam… I was so happy to see all the bottles which I can’t see in Tamil Nadu, it’s really a pity seeing all imported drinks everywhere in India except in Tamil Nadu… Really happy to see a bottle of Royal Stag for just 300 Rs… LOL…
I started to ask the prices of all the bottles… ‘How much is that one, and this one’… Finally I picked 3 and camemr black_038 (Small) out … One pity was, when we continued driving, I saw Black Dog and a board saying English wine shop… We couldn’t stop because the police didn’t let us park, so… half halfheartedly we started moving again…
After crossing Mahé we saw a beautiful sea view… at last we reached Mangalore at midnight…!!!

This entry was posted in 40 days trip, Mangalore and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Falling Rainbow…!!

  1. This is a great road trip! Well written. Congrats for achieving the 10000 kilometres mark. Really a lifetime experience!

Leave a Reply

